Hello, Young Man!

That’s what the four year-olds in our Head Start room say when I visit their classroom.  I don’t know where they got that from, but I do know that I like it! 

This is one of the great things about working in a school.  There’s something different behind every door.  The excitment of preschoolers looks a lot different from the excitment of 6th graders, who probably notice my gray hairs and don’t think I’m all that young!

I wanted to say great job to our 5th grade teachers.  This week they attended an off-site training with me on using Responsive Classroom techniques.  Providence is part of an Efficacy Study with UVA that requires a number of meetings and trainings for teachers at this grade level especially.  The study looks at the effects of Responsive Classroom on student progress, which is good for us as a school.  While we all learned some good strategies, the main thing I learned with that our team has such a positive way with kids.  The training was intended to give us new tricks for nurturing a positive classroom environment, but I think it ended up being more of a validation for the great job they’re already doing!

Have a great long weekend.  Happy MLK Day!

JK

Leave a comment